Doeberl Cup

The Doeberl Cup

Fifty Years of Australian Chess History
by Bill Egan

ISBN: 978-0-646-57140-9

US $14.99


The Doeberl Cup has been one of Australia's premier weekend chess tournaments since its inception in 1963. It has attracted more overseas Grandmasters and International Masters than any other Australian chess tournament, including such notables as Tony Miles, Englands's first GM; Larry Christiansen, many times US Champion, and Eduard Gufeld, for years a leading Soviet player. It has been a challenging arena for all leading Australian players, including Ian Rogers and Darryl Johansen. The Doeberl Cup continues to grow in prestige every year.


Bill Egan  is a Canberra chess player who has played in most Doeberl Cup events since 1975, and was also for many years either the President of the ACT Chess Association, or the Chairman of the Doeberl Cup Organizing Committee. He and his wife Jean have hosted or entertained many of the international players in their home, as well as countless Australian players.

About the book

This book was previously published in 2012, to celebrate the Fiftieth holding of the Doeberl Cup. The 2018 edition retains the original content, with minor changes to accomodate the ePlus format. The book contains over 200 games (or game fragments), as well as 75+ pictures of every Australian chess personality from the last 50 years.  In the e+Books edition, you can play through all the material on the live board. Navigate the Contents by chapter. Games are indexed by player (White or Black).